Whitefriars Glass Forum

How did your collection start?

How did your collection start?
« on: January 21, 2016, 11:24:40 AM »
Hello!
I'm new to this site and I've found it incredibly useful.
I've been collecting in a haphazard way for a few years and I was just wondering how everyone else started their collection?
Mine was a pair of lovely green M74 that I picked up by chance for ?2 in a charity shop.
Although they are water glasses I use them for wine!
I didn't realise that they were from the same firm that created the Drunken Bricklayer Vase and I guess thats why I became so interested. 
My love of that vase goes back to when as a student my Mum wouldn't let me spend ?40 quid on one that I found in some random secondhand stall! 
I've gradually worked my way up to having a Drunken Bricklayer Vase - it was a little more the 40 quid.... but thanks to this site at least I know its genuine!
 :D

Marc

Re: How did your collection start?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2016, 01:58:22 PM »
Hi JayVee, welcome to the forum :).

I'm glad you've found the site useful :). I think most people's collections started off with a chance encounter. Mine was with a King and green 9711 at an antiques fair. We wanted a nice centre piece for our dining table and we saw a beautiful pink and white Flygsfors bowl, next to it was the 9711 and I thought it was stunning, so we had both.

« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2016, 08:41:56 PM »
Hi JayVee and welcome.
I started collecting Georgian and Victorian drinking glasses and decanters about 15 years ago. It started through a customer of my family business who collected Georgian glasses and I used to visit his home through work every 6 months.
I collected these for 4 or 5 years and then got into selling, quite liked the selling side of things and looked what was selling well in the world of glass and Whitefriars is what I chose.